On Learning a New Stove

I recently moved from Rochester, NY to Seattle, WA. One of the nuisances we don’t consider when we move is having to learn the peculiarities of a new stove. My old stove was a gas range. Will my new one be gas, or electric? And if it’s electric (which I must admit is a more efficient way to cook), how long will it take me to learn its idiosyncrasies?

What, for example, is a “4.5” on the settings dial? Or how does “medium high” translate into actual heat?

Ovens are pretty simple: they have a temperature right on the dial. And with the help of a decent oven thermometer, it’s easy to check the dial’s accuracy and recalibrate it.

oven thermometer

Oven Thermometer

But I’m not going to worry about that right now. Right now my main goal is finding a place to live. While living in Rochester, I had forgotten that Washington State law allows a landlord to collect an amount 3 times the monthly rent before letting you move in: first and last month’s rent, plus a damage deposit equal to the monthly rent. On top of that, most landlords also demand a $40 application fee to cover the cost of running a background check on potential tenants.

Had I remembered that, I’d have stayed in Rochester until I had saved up enough money to cover those costs.

And that, my faithful readers, is why I have no new recipes for you: I don’t have a kitchen!

Robyn

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

