NaCHO Nachos, OUR Nachos

Something that helps keep relationships strong is sharing the same taste in food. Last night was my turn to fix dinner, so when Stacey texted me from Wegman’s wanting to know what my plan was for dinner, I immediately replied, “Either nachos or quesadillas.” (I had already asked her to pick up a bag of grated cheddar.)

After several texts back and forth, we had decided on nachos with onions, salsa, cheese, sour cream, and guacamole. I prefer to add chicken, but that’s what we had Wednesday night, and neither of us was in the mood for leftovers.

One of Staceys texts wanted to know about the sauce we had in the refrigerator door. She had typed “salsa,” but her over eager autocorrect stepped in and what I got was “What about the Saudi in the refrigerator? Hot?”

I ate dinner in fear of the NSA sending Homeland Security to burst in on us.

Oh, and the salsa? Wegman’s own brand of peach-mango salsa is om-nom-nom yummy good!

The only downside to the dinner? The oven heats up the kitchen to the point where it’s almost unbearable. Sorry, but no. We have no microwave, so nachos have to be done in the oven. Fortunately, it’s starting to be autumn, which will mean lower temperatures. 

Which, in turn, will mean more baked goodies.

My Recipe

  • One bag of Tostito Scoops brand corn chips
  • 1 8-ounce bag of grated cheese. I use sharp cheddar, but the choice is yours
  • 1 small onion, chopped (we use Vidalia onions)
  • Salsa
  • Guacamole 
  • Diced fresh tomato 
  1. Cover two oven-proof plates with corn chips. Add onions to your taste. Cover with the shredded cheese.
  2. Put in a pre-heated 350F oven for about 15 minutes, or until the cheese has melted. Remove from oven.
  3. Add salsa, tomato, sour cream, and guacamole to taste.
  4. ENJOY!
This is my last-minute recipe. Normally I’d add either some ground cumin, or some chopped cilantro. I’ve also been known to sprinkle lime juice over it all.
 
My nachos go very well with Negro Modelo beer.
 
Some people like to add garlic; I’m not one of them.
Leave a Reply

